Life-Study of Leviticus, by Witness Lee

More excerpts from this title...


Leviticus, a book of the priesthood, ends with our devotion of ourselves and of our possessions, our cattle, land, and houses. In chapter twenty-seven we have not four kinds of consecrations for a vow but four kinds of devotions for a vow (vv. 2-25).

A. The Devotion of a Person to God

In 27:2-8 we read of the devotion of a person to God.

1. The Valuation of the Person

Verse 2 speaks of making “a special vow to Jehovah involving the valuation of persons.” Thus the devotion here involves the value of a person. This indicates that when we devote ourselves to God, this devotion involves our value.

a. By God—in the Eyes of God

How much we are valued is not according to our estimation; it is according to God.

b. According to the Shekel of the Sanctuary

The value of a person is also “according to the shekel of the sanctuary” (v. 3b). This means that it is according to the holy scale of God’s dwelling. In other words, it is according to the spiritual scale of the church, which is God’s dwelling today.

2. Different Kinds of Valuations

In verses 3 through 8 there are different kinds of valuations.

a. Of a Male from Twenty to Sixty Years Old, Fifty Shekels of Silver

“The valuation of a male from twenty years old up to sixty years old shall be fifty shekels of silver” (v. 3a). The ones in this category, the most valuable, signify those who are spiritually strong, mature, experienced, and able to war in the church.

The number fifty is composed of five times ten. Five is the number of responsibility. Hence, fifty is ten times responsibility. Those whose valuation is fifty shekels of silver must bear the greatest responsibility.

(Life-Study of Leviticus, Chapter 62, by Witness Lee)